What level of safeguarding do I need?

Created by Simon Whitby, Modified on Mon, 07 Nov 2022 at 09:31 AM by Gary Sharples

This guidance states that safeguarding training should be undertaken every three years but knowledge refreshed annually (possibly via a team meeting).


Providers are expected to follow the guidance in the Safeguarding Children and Young People: Roles and Competencies for Healthcare staff


As well as Safeguarding in general dental practice - A toolkit for dental teams 2019


This sets out the minimum training requirements required:


Level 1: for all non-clinical staff (e.g. receptionists and practice managers)
Level 2: for all Dentists and Dental Care Professionals
Level 3: for Paediatric Dentists and Paediatric Orthodontists (i.e. those who could potentially contribute to assessing, planning, intervening and evaluating the needs of a child or young person and parenting capacity where there are safeguarding/child protection concerns). Level 3 is not normally required for Dentists and Dental Care Professionals working in general dental practice.

 Level 1 and Level 2 training refresher can be undertaken via online training courses. Level 1 training should last a minimum of two hours, Level 2 training should last a minimum of three hours.


Agilio iLearn does not supply Level 3 training as this is not deemed suitable via an e-learning platform.


You can find our Safeguarding courses by opening this link and selecting the “Safeguarding” filter.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article